Tags

, , , ,

So, I named this blog after my first name – read About – and being a Christian, it struck me that there ought to be some songs. Feel free to include some more if you know any…

“I’m Not Afraid (To Cross That River)” by the Smoky Mountain Boys, ‘Stay By the Brook’ album: “i”m weary & i long for that peaceful land-this journey’sbeen rough & long When I feel his spirit I sing my song Oh Lord it can’t be too long

Oh no I not , I’m not afraid to cross this river my Father owns the land on both sides- He’ll walk with me through the shadows Then home sweet home i’ll abide

In the distance I can see that beauitful shore,I’m nearing the end og day,And he’ll take me over to that land so fair to that land of prefect day”

——

“Cross Over The River”

Words by Larry A. Hamblen
Music by Jerry D. Hamblen

Genesis 17:1-8

1 When Abram was ninety-nine years old, the LORD appeared to Abram and said to him, “I am Almighty God; walk before Me and be blameless. 2 And I will make My covenant between Me and you, and will multiply you exceedingly.” 3 Then Abram fell on his face, and God talked with him, saying: 4 “As for Me, behold, My covenant is with you, and you shall be a father of many nations. 5 No longer shall your name be called Abram, but your name shall be Abraham; for I have made you a father of many nations. 6 I will make you exceedingly fruitful; and I will make nations of you, and kings shall come from you. 7 And I will establish My covenant between Me and you and your descendants after you in their generations, for an everlasting covenant, to be God to you and your descendants after you. 8 Also I give to you and your descendants after you the land in which you are a stranger, all the land of Canaan, as an everlasting possession; and I will be their God.”

You stand in the desert of sin and despair;
You don’t know the Savior, His love or His care.
But He stands at the river, and holds out His hand;
Cross over the river to Canaan’s fair land.

O, won’t you cross over to Canaan’s fair land;
The Savior is waiting, and He understands.
He’ll save you and keep you, so reach out your hand;
Cross over the river to Canaan’s fair land.

O, come to the Savior, He’s waiting for you;
You stand in the darkness of fear and of gloom.
Cross over the river, step into the light;
O, come to the Savior, He’ll conquer your night.

O, won’t you cross over to Canaan’s fair land;
The Savior is waiting, and He understands.
He’ll save you and keep you, so reach out your hand;
Cross over the river to Canaan’s fair land.

©2000 Hamblen & Hamblen Music All Rights Reserved.

—–
At The Crossing Of The Jordan

Words and Music by Mosie Lister

There’s a river somewhere that’s called Jordan,
And they say that it’s deep and it’s wide;
And they say that the king and the beggar
On that shore will stand side by side.

At the crossing of the Jordan,
Why should I be afraid?
There’ll be Someone there who loves me
To guide me ‘cross the river to endless joys above.

Though the river is dark and stormy,
It will pass like a dream in the night;
And my soul will awake in the morning
In regions of endless delight.

At the crossing of the Jordan,
Why should I be afraid?
There’ll be Someone there who loves me
To guide me ‘cross the river to endless joys above.

—-
“Wading Thru Deep Water”

Verse 1
As Peter went to meet the Lord a walkin on the sea,
He looked around and saw the waves and he began to sink,
But God heard his cry for help, oh Lord please save me,
He reached down his hand for him, he’ll do the same for me.

Chorus
I’m wading through deep waters tryin to get home,
The waves of sin they dash so high, sometimes I think I’m gone,
But when I think I’m gonna sink, I’ll raise my hand up high
That great big hand of God comes down and takes a hold of mine.

Verse 2
As Moses and the Israelites fled Pharoah and his men,
It looked as if they all would die and fear came over them,
But God spoke unto Moses stretch your hand out over the sea,
He reached down his hand for them, he’ll do the same for me.

“One more river to cross”

