Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

The debate continues over nature vs. nurture, environment or genetics, choice or none in the discussion about homosexual feelings and lifestyles.  It’s possible/ probable that what’s going on is often a mixture of the two factors.

In the debate over homosexuality, there are some who have been derisively charged with a scam, “praying the gay away”.  Both sides of the argument say they can prove it does or doesn’t work.  Likely it’s a mixed bag because as with most things, it’s about what you put into it, where you’re coming from and how you’re looking at the world.

Homosexuality is a sin just as much as murder or envy is, just as much as lying, sloth or gluttony are.  Sin is sin, period.  Both sides of the argument have a hard time wrapping their minds around that, much less accepting it, for different reasons.

Christians can and do still sin.  We are forgiven, but not perfected in this life.  Our salvation does not give us an excuse, but it is a gift none-the-less.  We must be loving and forgiving.  We must also consider that even though we are saved, we can still be tempted and trip.  A tangential argument might be made for or against the doctrinal concept of once saved, always saved but that is not for this brief commentary.  The Christian saved from a life of addiction to drugs and alcohol may never touch those things again, but I’m willing to bet the temptation and the occasional desire never completely goes away.

And so, we must daily carry our cross, die to self and follow after Him.

All things are possible through Him; not us.  That’s something very important to remember and a possible clue as to why “praying the gay away” doesn’t always “work”.  The prayer should not be, “God, help me not to do x, y or z” but rather, “God, I cannot do this.  I don’t want to do x, y, or z.  I know you don’t want me to do it either, but for that to happen, you’ve got to be the one in control of my life, not me.”  This doesn’t mean being an observer in your own life just as much as it doesn’t mean being a backseat driver but it does mean listening to God, and striving for what is good and holy.

Anyhow, the whole point of this posting was to provide a link to an article I’d come across today.  It’s an open letter penned by a young woman, Jackie Hill, who grew up with homosexual desires and lived a homosexual lifestyle until she met Jesus.  Some might argue that she’s still young and naive, but this is her testimony, thus it stands by its own merits.

http://www.desiringgod.org/blog/posts/love-letter-to-a-lesbian

Dear ______,

I just want you to know that I understand.

I understand how it feels to be in love with a woman. To want nothing more than to be with her forever. Feeling as if the universe has played a cruel joke on your heart by allowing it to fall into the hands of a creature that looks just like you.

I too was a lesbian. I had same-sex attractions as early as five-years old. As I grew up, those feelings never subsided. They only grew. I would find myself having crushes on my female best friends, but I was far too ashamed to admit it to them — let alone to myself. …